OLIVER WRIGHT


Where are you based?
I'm in London, although I think of it as 'currently trapped' rather than based...

 

Where's your favourite place to ride?
That's difficult, because some of my favourite places on a fine day in July can seem like the worst in the world on a wet and windy morning in February. But I would probably have to say a quiet winding lane in the High Weald or Ashdown Forest in summer. I grew up there and after a long absence recently rediscovered it by bike. It's not grand or epic but it's beautiful to me in a small and very British way. My parents still live there so a cup of tea and home made cake is never far away either, which may have something to do with it.

 

What type of riding do you like to do the most?
The best rides I've had involve getting away from everything for a couple of days. Even just 3 or 4 - enough to escape and discover somewhere new and forget about the usual routine. For me that might mean a 300k audax over a weekend, a trip to my parents or a mini break with friends - the type of riding doesn't seem to matter too much, as long as I can get on the bike for a couple of days I'm happy.

 

How do you discover a new route? Do you plan ahead with maps or just see where the road takes you?
In the past I've done a lot of googling and online research for certain rides, and sometimes that's really got me motivated to get out there. These days I tend to just rely on the map in my head, even if it means the odd wrong turn, especially on my local rides. Or just diving down that turn you've always glided past. If I'm touring there's nothing like pouring over a good paper map, and asking the odd local - then ignoring them where necessary! 

 

What equipment do you use to capture your ride?
A Moto G with a very cracked screen.

 

What destination would be on your riding wish list?
I have an almost constant urge to explore more of the UK and the little pockets I haven't seen yet. Scotland is somewhere I haven't really seen much of so it's high on my list. After a brief taste of the Alps last year I'd really like to explore some of the smaller Cols in central and eastern Europe. I spent nine years growing up in South Africa but never got on a bike there, so that's something I'd really like to rectify at some point.